Airplane Pictures home

Home » Forums » Photo feedback » Heat haze

Heat haze

Oscar Lammers Photography 

Joined in July 2014
Posted 6 August 2014 - 10:59 CET

Hello,

My photo is rejected because of the heat haze.

I like the picture and I think that you can see the heat haze behind an engine most of the times.

I'm quite new with aviation photography so maybe you can help me with this.

Are there any tips for editing the photo in Photoshop to reduces the heat haze?

Are there also any tips when I take a photo to avoid heat haze?

Sorry for my bad English because it is not my foreign language.

Thanks!!

Attached photos:

PrestonFiedler

Joined in June 2014
Posted 6 August 2014 - 20:15 CET

Hi,

The heat haze here is unrelated to the engine. In front of the aircraft there are wavy lines that should be straight, an indication of heat haze. There is no way to edit this, but you can take photos in the early morning or late evening to help avoid it. Also, minimizing your distance to the aircraft helps.

Regards,

John

Oscar Lammers Photography 

Joined in July 2014
Posted 7 August 2014 - 10:40 CET

Thank you for your answer John!!

Jordy v Wees 

Joined in December 2013
Posted 7 August 2014 - 18:35 CET

Goedenavond,

Heathaze is een probleem dat voorkomt bij warme dagen en hier is zoals eerder gezegd helaas niets aan te doen. . Doordat de zwart baan warmte vasthoud straalt hij dit ook weer uit heathaze dus.. daarom zijn dit soort shots in de zomer wat moeilijker te maken dan wanneer het -10 vriest zeg maar haha!

PrestonFiedler

Joined in June 2014
Posted 7 August 2014 - 19:33 CET

Hi,

Actually Jordy is slightly incorrect in his reply. Heat haze can occur at any temperature and can also occur at any altitude. All heat haze is a layer of atmospheric disturbance forming between two masses of air at different temperature as the hot air is rising and the cool air is falling.

Regards,

John

mitchel kuppens 
Joined in July 2013
Posted 7 August 2014 - 20:45 CET