Airplane Pictures home

Home » Forums » Aviation photography » What is best for planespotting - Nikon D7000 or D600?

What is best for planespotting - Nikon D7000 or D600?

Ricardo Abritta 

Joined in March 2013
Posted 4 April 2013 - 23:29 CET

Hello guys!!

I'm planning to buy a new camera to substitute my Nikon D5100 and I would like your opinion about.

My options are Nikon D7000 or Nikon D600. What is best for planespotting?

For all cameras I use an AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm 1:4.5-5.6 G and a Sigma 150-500mm 1:5-6:3 APO HSM.

If anyone has another suggestion, please, let me know!

Angelo Bufalino 

Joined in May 2011
Posted 5 April 2013 - 00:57 CET

Ricardo,

I believe Dai Ngo shoots the D600

This post has been edited by Angelo Bufalino on 5th April 2013 - 00:58

Dai Ngo 

Joined in June 2012
Posted 5 April 2013 - 01:30 CET

Ricardo,

I've never used the D7000 before, but still I think you should go for the D600. Being an FX body, the D600 has a bigger finder than the DX-body D7000. Also, the number of quality lenses (old & new) that's compatible with the D600 is much greater. What you pay for bodies is only a small initial investment. Your major investment later on will be in lenses. Hope this helps.

Ricardo Abritta 

Joined in March 2013
Posted 5 April 2013 - 01:45 CET

Dai Ngo, thanks for your tips!! I'm inclined for the D600. What lenses do you recommend?

As my lenses fits well on both cameras (AF-S Nikkor 70-300mm 1:4.5-5.6 G / Sigma 150-500mm 1:5-6:3), I will probably buy an 70-200 f2.8L or an fish-eye for nice cockpit shots.

Angelo Bufalino, what could you say about the D800 performance for planespotting?

Dai Ngo 

Joined in June 2012
Posted 5 April 2013 - 02:25 CET

Currently, I'm using the Nikkor 28-300 on the D600, but I'm also looking for a replacement lens that would give me more reach, so I'm contemplating a choice between the Sigma Bigma 50-500 or the new AF-S Nikkor 80-400mm F4.5-5.6G ED VR, coming out to the US market next week.